Why The Cheesy Fundraiser?

Image

I normally don’t like to ask for money for nothing. It makes me super-uncomfortable to ask people to give me money, and the only thing I can offer them back is a cheesy badge on my blog pages.

But I really do need your help, and if you could spread the word that would be great.

Why should you give money to someone you don’t know?

I’m a writer, just like you. Since I’ve become unemployed, I’ve been making an attempt to write full time, and I’m connected with one private client and a website that offers gigs for $5 (so I write 500 words for $5, and if they want it longer they have to order extra gigs). But you guys all know that quality writing consumes an enormous amount of time, and at the rates I’m getting, I’m lucky if I’m making $5 an hour.  And that’s not a living wage.

I’m not shy – I get food stamps. But they don’t exactly give you all that much, and it’s pretty hard to get through the month on $175.

All this is not designed to make you feel sorry for me. It’s to let you know that, despite a lot of hard work, I could really use some extra help so that I can maybe turn down some of the more disgusting gigs I’ve been offered and spend more time on my novel and on Persephone’s Pen and The Epicurean. Not because I think you guys will die without my brilliant voice, but because I think I have something to say, and some of the time, a few of you agree with me. Sometimes I’m funny, and a few of you laugh with me. And sometimes I’m just real talk, and some of you nod your heads with me.

So I would appreciate it and give thanks if you or someone you know could donate whatever is feasible for you. .Even $5 helps. And you’ll get a cool badge on my blog with a link to your blog, which will remain on my page for whatever time period is specified on the fundraiser page.

Thank you for not thinking I’m a jerk for doing this. But I really do need the help. And if I can ever help any of you, please just say the word.

Click here to donate: http://igg.me/at/persephonespen/x/6242292

Leave a Reply

